Luang Prabang to Muang Khoua to Nong Khiaw - dirt and water

techdomi

This is my first attempt at a trip report, in order to give something back for all the amazing help I got on my trip from Phil and Rider's Corner. If you are just interested in some info on doing this route, skip past my attempt at colourful commentary to the end for some point-form tips.

After a very enjoyable ride on the Hongsa - Luang Prabang route, I ended up "stuck" in LP as a result of forgetting to get third-party insurance at the border near Hongsa - although I'm not certain there was an option at that border. Had to wait until Monday for the AGL offices to open, so I had to suffer through several days of great food and coffee. By the time the paperwork was done, I felt like I needed a bit more dirt riding, so I decided to attempt the Nam Bak - Muang Khoua route, and then see if I could get my bike on a boat for the trip down the Nam Ou back to Nong Khiaw.

I got started later then I intended, around noon, due to paperwork and some issues with getting money. The 120km ride to Nam Bak was straightforward and quick, good road with no issues other then the usual traffic you need to be alert for.

The turnoff was 2.4km from Nam Bak towards Nong Khiaw, a wide track through a village, I don't think there was anything marking it so you need to be aware of where you are going. I was fortunate enough to have a GPS track of the route, although I lost them due to my GPS picking up a virus (TIP: be careful when you plug your GPS into a public computer, do Panda Virus scan first).

The first 20km or so was a recently-graded wide dirt track that you could comfortably travel at 50km/h over. After that, I passed the parked grading equipment, and the road started to degrade. I assume that the older this article gets, the more of the road will be graded and easily ridable.