Just saying Hi

XR399

Bikes
Yamaha FZS1000 Fazer, Previously had Honda CBR929 and Honda NSR 150 SP
Hi

I'm a 68 year old Canadian, living in Hua Hin for 8 years now. Long time motorcycle guy. 12 yrs motocross starting at 17 yrs old, 6 years of road racing after I figured my body was too old for motocross!! Always had a street bike or 2 ever since I was 18, probably probably a million street kilometers or so.

I completely restored a fairly nice example of Honda NSR 150 SP including a Taga Pipe when I first arrived in HH, but when I started riding it found it to be a bit cramped for my 183 cm and 80 kg. I then stepped up to a CBR 929 rr which was a great machine, wife and I rode it to MotoGP in Sepang the year that Simonchelli was killed, sadly ending that race after 1 1/2 laps. A fuel injection problem that I had looked at by Red Baron in BKK, proved to be the end of that bike for me, as shoddy, incompetent workmanship ruined the rideability. I was able to sell it quickly, and found a fairly nice 2003 Yamaha FZS1000 Faser which is my current street ride (along with the usual obligatory in town scooters).

Nearly all my riding buddies here now also have a dual purpose CRF or KLR 250 and are finding a lot of good areas for off roading. I borrowed a CRF250L and took a few rides with them, and it was very enjoyable ( I thought I would not be able to cope with the heat while riding off road, but it didn't prove to be that bad!!) So now I am looking for a dirt squirt again!

I was wondering if anyone on the board has experience with the KTM 200 EXC 2 stroke? The CRF and KLR's are way heavy, and for me keeping the weight down will be a major consideration. What about parts availability? There is a KTM dealer in HH, but they only have the street lineup, and seemed non-committal on whether they could order parts or not.

I am going to look at a 2008 in BKK on Sunday, and if anyone has comments I'd appreciate hearing them!!