RideAsia First Aid Training Special offer and some useful information

barry

I spoke to Phil and got his permission to post this as it is something that may save lives.

My Name is Barry Main, a few of you will already know me, I have been an Emergency First Response Instructor for 10 years now and will provide some possibly live saving information here for riders who venture into remote locations or just down the street, even at home where 85% of Heart failures occur.

Some Facts:
Thailand has Good Samaritan laws that protect anyone with training in first aid if they come to assist an injured person, you cannot be sued under law for providing care you are trained in. A Layperson is not protected and not meant to provide care, they can of course assist by calling in Thailand 191 which is Police headquarters, this is the old emergency number and is being changed over as most officers do not speak Thai and the process is slow to dispatch EMS (Emergency Medical Services) to your location, the new number 1669 is manned by trained paramedics who are bilingual and very good up to date information about the closest EMS to your location.

How long can we survive without food? – About 2 weeks
How long can we survive without water? – About 2 days
How long can organs survive without Oxygen? – About 8 minutes before brain damage sets in and kidney failure starts.

With this in mind it is important that Cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) is provided quickly and properly to increase the chance of survival, we breathe air that is about 16% Oxygen and only use about half of that O2, so when providing what we call rescue breaths to a patient there is enough O2 to prevent organ failure when given with chest compressions in the correct way.
But how much will CPR alone help? It will increase chances of surviving a heart failure where the heart stops from a sudden cardiac arrest (SCA) is only around 5%.

Typical CPR Training on a manikin
cpr-aed-training-myanmar-burma.jpg