Hello! DR250 rider from Aus.

Liladv

Bikes
DRZ250
Hi,

I've been lurking in the forum for a few weeks, thought it was time to introduce myself.

I live on the coast of NSW, but am planning a few weeks riding in Northern Thailand, Laos and Cambodia (time permitting!) this June / July.

The forum, especially the trip reports have been very helpful in my planning and general day dreaming about this trip. The photos are amazing and I can imagine they probably don't do justice to the real thing.

Well, here is me:

and my bike:

It is like a little, mini adventure bike - I'm fairly new to riding and it helps that I can still pick it up by myself without waiting for one of the boys to come back and help but it still let's me get out and explore :)

hello 'liladv' ! :your welcome: yes this forum it's very interesting and I had lots of helpful info as well.
u said north Thailand ..let me know if u ride through Pai (where I live).nice bike ,I also have a 'mini-adv' ,a modified CRF250 ;)
keep in touch ,you could join for a ride if u like .ciao
Sergio

G'day Liladv and welcome.
With that set-up it looks like you may have already done some interesting rides in the back-blocks of NSW?
Hope to meet you when you get over to northern Thailand. (might be a bit wet though!)

Hi Liladv. Am back in Sydney for a few months. Happy to chat with you about riding in Thailand. Have done 20k kilometres there past 2 years. Ian......

Thanks for the welcome :)

I'm thinking I want to hire a bike for the Thailand part of my stay. It would be great to hook up with some locals, have a ride or even just for a chat.

That tank is a second hand Acerbis 20 litre. It has been awesome, my riding has come along in huge strides since I've had it. Wind protection, 450km in a tank so I can do a full days ride now rather than being limited to sticking near towns and it balances the bike nicely. Plus I think it looks a fair bit sexier with it haha.