Greetings from Yangon, Myanmar!

Joko_Londo

Bikes
Kenbo 125
Hello to all the forum members. My name is Joko, and I'm an English teacher who's been living and working in "The Golden Land" for close to three years now. My hobbies include basketball, blogging, ukulele playing and making videos for YouTube. I've also lived in Bangkok, and when I was much younger, I spent a couple years in Indonesia as an exchange student. It's a pleasure to join this forum. I've been perusing your pics and stories and am much impressed.

198371_10200660633577067_747577761_n.jpg

I've been riding motorcycles since I got a Kawasaki KV75 when I was 8 years old. That's close to 40 years now. Although most of my bikes have been on the smaller side, I've driven everything from little 50cc scooters to a Suzuki 650cc. It was with great sadness that I sold my Honda Smile in Bangkok when I moved here to Yangon, where bikes are forbidden.
936382_10200660646217383_1484569829_n.jpg

Last year, I was given a temporary remote assignment up in the capital, Naypyitaw. Knowing it was just a short term thing, I bought a cheap Chinese Kenbo 125. Brand new, less than US$600! Anyways, I've driven that little bike all over Myanmar on a few tours I've made while on vacation. During this time, I've left it parked across the river out of town.

5710_10206839068634082_4459225921439653277_n.jpg

Come January, I have another 2500 km loop planned through Shan State in the east of the country. Before I do that, I want to trade the Kenbo in for something a little bigger and better. I'm thinking a Honda CRF250 or 450. Honda_CRF450X_Off_Road_Motorcycle.jpg

The next trip (except I won't be doing that shortcut into Thailand)...

2017trip.png