Bike video editing tips

MastaMax

Bikes
19 ktm 300tpi 6 days / 15 Yamaha YZ250F / 08 Husky 450SMR / 13 ER6N / 13 KTM 300XCW(sold)
Because some users already asked me some tips about video editing, why not create a new thread with editing tips. The idea is to stay in the scope of riding video stuff.

I'm still a beginner (have my cam for about a month now) but start to get the grip on Adobe Premiere Pro and Adobe After Effects.

There are tons of effects and plugin in those video editing software tools, but a few of them are especially useful for riding videos.

Here are a few common tips for GoPro/ContourHd... videos using Adobe After Effects:

- Un-fisheye your video: if you want to remove the wide angle perspective from your video the effect to use is : "Optics compensation". Set it to negative and correct the angle. Little tutorial video (will post as url for readability purpose):

- Stabilize your video: in After Effects 5 there is a tool called "warp stabilizer" that is amazing. Here is an example I made myself with my contourHD (available in full HD) before and after:

- Make slow/fast-motion: use a plugin called twixtor, it gives amazing results. For good slow-mo filming at 60fps is a must. Here is another test I made mysefl (also using the contourHD waterproof case):

- Use the color correction or a plugin called Looks (from "Magic Bullet") to change the colors, add vignetting... In the jungle there is often to much green and it makes the color histogram very flat (only green). As example, same video as the stabilization one, before/after color correction, though I may have over-saturate on this one:

- Use different camera angles: still experimenting this, to make a video less boring don't shoot long pov videos, change the angle (turn the video around and film backwards, film from the side,...).