Best country in SE Asia to buy a bike for touring??

CristiRenee

Hello Everyone!
I am new to Ride Asia and have scanned the forums but haven't really seen any good advice on what country in SouthEast Asia is best for buying a bike to tour.

My boyfriend and I just landed in Bangkok and want to buy bikes to wander through Thailand, Vietnam, Laos, Cambodia, and the parts of Myanmar we can get into for the next 6 months.
We originally though Bangkok would be the place to get a bike but from what I read the paperwork here seems like a nightmare for foreigners and crossing borders with it would be troublesome.
Is Vietnam the place to buy?
Any advice on this would be really helpful!!

Also any advice on the best bikes to buy would be great too.
Being from the US a 250cc seems small for hauling packs on a long tour but was told anything bigger is illegal in Vietnam.

Seems like RideAsia will be our new bestfriend for the next couple months,
Thanks!!

Get ready for a barrage of info....welcome to the sight....

Your going to have some fun, get yourself up to CM..

happy trails...

Ps, how did you here about us??

Malaysia.

The least troublesome place to buy a bike will be Malaysia. But its also probably the most expensive place to buy a bike in this region. I have a number of expat friends who owns Malaysian bikes and they have no problem entering Thailand, Laos and Cambodia. Vietnam is dodgy for everybody, but we have friends who have gone in with their big GS. The crossings were still tedious but doable.

For your reference here are some of the prices of bikes in Malaysia:

BMW R1200GS USD38,700
Yamaha R1 USD32,300
Harley Ultra Tourer USD63,225
BMW K1600GTL USD54,200
Kawasaki Versys USD12,300
Yamaha Super Tenere USD39,677
Yamaha XT660 Tenere USD22,600