2014 KTM 250R Freeride

2wheels

Community Manager
Bikes
ROYAL ENFIELD CLASSIC
2014 KTM Freeride 250R - Two-Stroke Power in a 204-Pound Package » Motorcycle.com News

082713-2014-ktm-freeride-250-r-06-633x348.jpg

(Motorcycle.com)

"The revised engine now weights about 4.4 pounds lighter than the original EXC powerplant despite the addition of an electric starter."

I like where they've re-located the expansion chamber to - I dont think I could buckle that one as easy!

Fuel tank looks like it has been shifted back quite a bit making it alot easier to do back-flips and put you on your ass (like it wasn't easy enough before)

From Jayem on a different thread, very relevant so i'll copy it over

Total noob here, but thanks to Phil for welcoming me to RC and RA.net and pointing me in the right direction (to Ally's page with instructions) on how to insert images in a thread. So before attempting to write and post my first RR (about a very wet trip across Laos and into Vietnam), let's see if I manage to insert some photos in my very first post on RA.net.

For the few 2-T fans and enduro/trail riders on this forum who might appreciate the 'less is more' approach to bike design, as in 'less weight = more fun' (and certainly 'less fatigue' when riding technical trails), I thought KTM's newest addition to their Freerider range might be of interest.

The newly issued 2014 KTM Freeride 250 R (2-T) will never make it into next year's shoot-out since it's a 250cc and a trail bike, as it doesn't belong in the enduro league, but in terms of weight, its puny 92.5 kg (without gas) makes the hard core enduro two-strokes look rather porky...

This new addition to KTM's Freeride range might very well be right up the alley of what a lot of the more leisure-riding trail-exploring dirtriders are looking for.