2013 KTM 300 XCW review

MastaMax

Bikes
19 ktm 300tpi 6 days / 15 Yamaha YZ250F / 08 Husky 450SMR / 13 ER6N / 13 KTM 300XCW(sold)
It's awesome.

Okay a bit more in depth...

First thing you notice is that it looks very tall, standing next to the bike it's all the way up to my hips. But once you sit on it, you realize that it's due to the big PDS shock. Once seated it feels good, high but totally manageable, a lot of ground clearance is good. So much that I can fit my bike stand under it without lifting the bike, even with the stand lifted the bike would almost touch the ground.

So first things first, setting up the static / riding sag, I suppose the stock springs will do fine for me as I'm pretty light. Stock settings will also do fine for the moment.

Then jetting, I'm not an experienced mechanic, but it seems that on that 2 stroke the jetting is between good and better... No way to get it bogging even with the engine cold. Nothing like on my WR where I had to test all possible combinations to get it right.

Breaking the engine in. Used the "heat cycle" technique, 3 cycles during the week while I was waiting to ride it. Then last Friday on first day out with the NOBs I just rode it normally.

After 2 rides (last Friday and last Sunday) I'm changing gear oil, checking all the screws, spokes and movable parts and it's ready ride hard.

I think it has the yellow power valve spring (the stock one) and I like it this way, it has lots of power in the bottom and in mid-range (before it hits the powerband), comparable to the WR with the 290 kit on it. Then passed that it rocks hard, even in 4th-5th gear at low speed with a bit of clutch it wheelies very easily.