2013 300 2 stroke shootout

MastaMax

Bikes
19 ktm 300tpi 6 days / 15 Yamaha YZ250F / 08 Husky 450SMR / 13 ER6N / 13 KTM 300XCW(sold)
Not enough dirt bike talk lately, so there we go:

Edit: Looks like pictures are automatically resized by the forum, which makes them unreadable, so I uploaded them to imageshack in their original format and posted them as link:

page 1
page 2
page 3
page 4
page 5
page 6
page 7
page 8
page 9

p1.jpg

Thanks for slinging the dirt on the forum Max :RO

Wow, the Gasgas sounds like a reet pig, 30 lbs heavier than the KTM and shit suspension. Lucky Paul didnt get his after all :)

Sounds like a massive dissapointment all round.

Even my old KDX is quoted at 101kg....10kg lighter than the GG?

Total noob here, but thanks to Phil for welcoming me to RC and RA.net and pointing me in the right direction (to Ally's page with instructions) on how to insert images in a thread. So before attempting to write and post my first RR (about a very wet trip across Laos and into Vietnam), let's see if I manage to insert some photos in my very first post on RA.net.

For the few 2-T fans and enduro/trail riders on this forum who might appreciate the 'less is more' approach to bike design, as in 'less weight = more fun' (and certainly 'less fatigue' when riding technical trails), I thought KTM's newest addition to their Freerider range might be of interest.

The newly issued 2014 KTM Freeride 250 R (2-T) will never make it into next year's shoot-out since it's a 250cc and a trail bike, as it doesn't belong in the enduro league, but in terms of weight, its puny 92.5 kg (without gas) makes the hard core enduro two-strokes look rather porky...

This new addition to KTM's Freeride range might very well be right up the alley of what a lot of the more leisure-riding trail-exploring dirtriders are looking for.