"Sabaidee. Massage, Boom-Boom?"

Great report Ron. Thanks.

I better go read it again though, I seem to have missed the boom boom bit....

A couple of warnings on 'TripAdvisor' about 'Balloons Over Vang Vieng'.

BUYER BEWARE! - Review of Balloons Over Vang Vieng, Vang Vieng, Laos - TripAdvisor

Having been into hot air ballooning, and having witnessed some tragic stuff first hand, I found this TA review alarming;

"serious problems with safety"
x.gif
Reviewed May 30, 2012
people found this review helpful

I am a UK commercial balloon pilot and took the flight a year ago not saying that I was also a pilot. The safety procedures (no briefing for landings for the passengers, changing tanks whilst cruising low over power lines and many other issues) were appalling. It won't take long and there will be a serious accident. The guys flying the balloon are Chinese where there are no rules and regulations whatsoever concerning flight safety, equipment , insurance or pilot training. Sorry but for your own safety I cannot recommend this ballooning experience to anybody. And the sad thing is, that once there is a serious accident it will probably forever prevent any other properly set up balloon business from operating in this country!

Visited November 2011

Bob and others interested.

'Vientiane Times' is onto the ballooning over VV issue and I'll report what they say/do.