Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 24

Thread: Creating a Route from a Track in Basecamp

  1. #1
    Senior Member johnnysneds's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Chiang Mai
    Bike(s)
    Multistrada 1200S Touring, WR450F, KTM200EXC, Gas Gas 280, PCX
    Posts
    983

    Creating a Route from a Track in Basecamp

    Hi, I wonder if someone could help out with creating a route from a track in Basecamp. Im using the Mac version but it should be similar to the PC.

    Here's whats happening:

    I want to connect two trails together from point A to B (below)



    I select the "Track" tool from the menu bar thingy and proceed to manually draw my required route between the two points





    I then rename the route to "My New Track"



    I then right click on the "My New Track" on the left hand side bar which brings up a menu. I then select "Create Route from Track"



    And I get this:



    Its obviously not recognizing the new track as a routable option and tries searching around the track for valid tracks to use and goes wonky. Why is this and what can I do to add my own tracks and make them routable so the software recognises them?

    Thanks for any help
    Dont eat the yellow snow!


  2. #2
    Senior Member Midnitemapper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    VIENTIANE, laos
    Bike(s)
    xt600, xr400 (4)
    Posts
    740
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Creating a Route from a Track in Basecamp

    Johnny, did you try doing this with a track that was recorded from a GPS?
    It looks to me that maybe that feature will not work using "drawn tracks" vs "recorded tracks.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Pattaya (ish)
    Bike(s)
    KTM 250 EXC-F
    Posts
    164

    Re: Creating a Route from a Track in Basecamp

    Have you tried doing it on Google Earth then saving the track in "documents" then import to base camp?

  4. #4
    Senior Member johnnysneds's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Chiang Mai
    Bike(s)
    Multistrada 1200S Touring, WR450F, KTM200EXC, Gas Gas 280, PCX
    Posts
    983

    Re: Creating a Route from a Track in Basecamp

    Quote Originally Posted by Midnitemapper
    Johnny, did you try doing this with a track that was recorded from a GPS?
    It looks to me that maybe that feature will not work using "drawn tracks" vs "recorded tracks.
    Hi MM,

    See photo below. This track is from my GPS saved into Base Camp. The section in purple with the arrow pointing to it is also un-routable. So the problem is both with drawn tracks and recorded tracks. Its really annoying as you can't plan/create routes unless you use existing trails in the maps.

    Dont eat the yellow snow!


  5. #5
    Senior Member johnnysneds's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Chiang Mai
    Bike(s)
    Multistrada 1200S Touring, WR450F, KTM200EXC, Gas Gas 280, PCX
    Posts
    983

    Re: Creating a Route from a Track in Basecamp

    Quote Originally Posted by garethw
    Have you tried doing it on Google Earth then saving the track in "documents" then import to base camp?
    Seems a long way around to do a simple task in Base Camp. I dont really use Google Earth. Ill try it though
    Dont eat the yellow snow!


  6. #6
    Senior Member KTMphil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Chiang Mai, Thailand
    Bike(s)
    2007 KTM 990 Adventure Suzuki DRZ 400
    Posts
    12,562
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Creating a Route from a Track in Basecamp

    Quote Originally Posted by johnnysneds
    Quote Originally Posted by garethw
    Have you tried doing it on Google Earth then saving the track in "documents" then import to base camp?
    Seems a long way around to do a simple task in Base Camp. I dont really use Google Earth. Ill try it though

    Save the tracks made in google earth as .KML files not .KMZ

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Pattaya (ish)
    Bike(s)
    KTM 250 EXC-F
    Posts
    164

    Re: Creating a Route from a Track in Basecamp

    Quote Originally Posted by KTMphil
    Quote Originally Posted by johnnysneds
    Quote Originally Posted by garethw
    Have you tried doing it on Google Earth then saving the track in "documents" then import to base camp?
    Seems a long way around to do a simple task in Base Camp. I dont really use Google Earth. Ill try it though

    Save the tracks made in google earth as .KML files not .KMZ
    For some reason Basecamp on a Mac will accept .KMZ files. Just draw your track, save it to documents and then import to Basecamp, no need to convert to .KML.

  8. #8
    Senior Member johnnysneds's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Chiang Mai
    Bike(s)
    Multistrada 1200S Touring, WR450F, KTM200EXC, Gas Gas 280, PCX
    Posts
    983

    Re: Creating a Route from a Track in Basecamp

    Quote Originally Posted by "garethw"


    Save the tracks made in google earth as .KML files not .KMZ[/quote

    For some reason Basecamp on a Mac will accept .KMZ files. Just draw your track, save it to documents and then import to Basecamp, no need to convert to .KML.

    Just tried that as well and it does the same thing. It shows up on my desktop as a .kmz file, I import it and it shows on the left as a track. Whe I try route it, it goes bonkers
    There must be a setting somewhere that I can't find grrrrrrr
    Dont eat the yellow snow!


  9. #9
    Senior Member johnnysneds's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Chiang Mai
    Bike(s)
    Multistrada 1200S Touring, WR450F, KTM200EXC, Gas Gas 280, PCX
    Posts
    983

    Re: Creating a Route from a Track in Basecamp

    This youtube video here's describes how to create a route. At 0:50 the guy mentions if you dont want it to follow the route you can change it in settings and he'll show later how to do it. But he doesn't aaaaaahhhh!!!! I even looked at all his other videos without success.

    Dont eat the yellow snow!


  10. #10
    Senior Member johnnysneds's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Chiang Mai
    Bike(s)
    Multistrada 1200S Touring, WR450F, KTM200EXC, Gas Gas 280, PCX
    Posts
    983

    Re: Creating a Route from a Track in Basecamp

    If you select "Direct Routing" from the drop down menu at the top right, it sort of does the right thing, however it still doesn't follow the contours/track exactly. Every other Activity option, walking, hiking, dirt biking etc makes the created route go crazy!
    Changing a Route to a Track is a piece of cake and does exactly what you want it to do. Why doesn't it do it in reverse!

    Dont eat the yellow snow!


  11. #11
    Senior Member Pounce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Perth
    Bike(s)
    '09 DR650 & '09 KTM 450EXC
    Posts
    400

    Re: Creating a Route from a Track in Basecamp

    Just go into the properties of the track & down the bottom should be a button "Create Route"
    Same thing if you want to turn a route into a track.
    n00b!

  12. #12
    Administrator Lone Rider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Chiangmai
    Bike(s)
    4 Wheels
    Posts
    1,588

    Re: Creating a Route from a Track in Basecamp

    As far as I know and I must admit I don't know Basecamp well, is that you can only make routes from things (roads, tracks, trails, points of interest, etc.) which are an integral part of the map.

    For that reason a track (recorder or hand drawn) which is not yet part of the map will not work for routing. A route therefore jumps from a route (made from tracks which are part of the map) in a straight line to the point where you want to go or, when the point where you want to go is closer to another embedded track/road in the map it will route along the existing tracks to a point closest to the point to where you want to go and makes a straight line. Mapsource works in the same way.
    "Life is what happens to you while busy making other plans"

  13. #13
    Senior Member Pounce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Perth
    Bike(s)
    '09 DR650 & '09 KTM 450EXC
    Posts
    400

    Re: Creating a Route from a Track in Basecamp

    Right click on the track in the bottom left pane.
    Properties.
    Then you should get this.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Creating a Route from a Track in Basecamp-11-04-2012-11-28-41-am.jpg  

  14. #14
    Senior Member johnnysneds's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Chiang Mai
    Bike(s)
    Multistrada 1200S Touring, WR450F, KTM200EXC, Gas Gas 280, PCX
    Posts
    983

    Re: Creating a Route from a Track in Basecamp

    Quote Originally Posted by Pounce
    Right click on the track in the bottom left pane.
    Properties.
    Then you should get this.



    Let me see you doing that with a track you've drawn with the "Track Tool" which is not near any roads or trails etc. Do your properties and create route thang and post up the resulting screen shot?
    Dont eat the yellow snow!


  15. #15
    Administrator Lone Rider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Chiangmai
    Bike(s)
    4 Wheels
    Posts
    1,588

    Re: Creating a Route from a Track in Basecamp

    Quote Originally Posted by Pounce
    Just go into the properties of the track & down the bottom should be a button "Create Route"
    Same thing if you want to turn a route into a track.
    n00b!
    Yes, you can do it in that way. Make a route from a starting point in the map to the point where your handrawn track or GPS track starts - click then on the track in the left handpanel and select make route from track and then select Make a new route and continue from there. However, you then have 3 routes which you have to upload to the GPS and then follow route 1, route 2 and route 3.
    "Life is what happens to you while busy making other plans"

  16. #16
    Senior Member johnnysneds's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Chiang Mai
    Bike(s)
    Multistrada 1200S Touring, WR450F, KTM200EXC, Gas Gas 280, PCX
    Posts
    983

    Re: Creating a Route from a Track in Basecamp

    Quote Originally Posted by Lone Rider
    As far as I know and I must admit I don't know Basecamp well, is that you can only make routes from things (roads, tracks, trails, points of interest, etc.) which are an integral part of the map.

    For that reason a track (recorder or hand drawn) which is not yet part of the map will not work for routing. A route therefore jumps from a route (made from tracks which are part of the map) in a straight line to the point where you want to go or, when the point where you want to go is closer to another embedded track/road in the map it will route along the existing tracks to a point closest to the point to where you want to go and makes a straight line. Mapsource works in the same way.

    This is what I understand too LR. The only way you can do it is to set the routing to "Direct" and click loads of times along the track using the Route tool, however you have to continue your whole route doing this as it won't allow you to select/revert to any of the other "Activities" i.e. biking, walking, car, motorcycle etc. Its an option but can take a while to create a route. Hopefully there will be an update soon that allows you to change the activity as your creating the route.
    Dont eat the yellow snow!


  17. #17
    Senior Member Pounce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Perth
    Bike(s)
    '09 DR650 & '09 KTM 450EXC
    Posts
    400

    Re: Creating a Route from a Track in Basecamp

    Quote Originally Posted by johnnysneds
    Quote Originally Posted by Pounce
    Right click on the track in the bottom left pane.
    Properties.
    Then you should get this.
    Let me see you doing that with a track you've drawn with the "Track Tool" which is not near any roads or trails etc. Do your properties and create route thang and post up the resulting screen shot?
    Ok. Hand drawn track.
    As you can see, it's in between roads, railways & rivers.
    This track wasn't connected to any existing roads or such on the map.Creating a Route from a Track in Basecamp-11-04-2012-11-52-04-am.jpg

  18. #18
    Senior Member Pounce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Perth
    Bike(s)
    '09 DR650 & '09 KTM 450EXC
    Posts
    400

    Re: Creating a Route from a Track in Basecamp

    Click Properties on the track 003 bottom left

    Creating a Route from a Track in Basecamp-11-04-2012-11-52-37-am.jpg

  19. #19
    Senior Member Pounce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Perth
    Bike(s)
    '09 DR650 & '09 KTM 450EXC
    Posts
    400

    Re: Creating a Route from a Track in Basecamp

    Click Create Route then OK

    Creating a Route from a Track in Basecamp-11-04-2012-11-53-04-am.jpg

  20. #20
    Senior Member Pounce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Perth
    Bike(s)
    '09 DR650 & '09 KTM 450EXC
    Posts
    400

    Re: Creating a Route from a Track in Basecamp

    It's now a route following the track points you put in

    Creating a Route from a Track in Basecamp-11-04-2012-11-53-37-am.jpg

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Garmin BaseCamp for PC
    By Lone Rider in forum GPS - Help and Discussion
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 15 Feb 2014, 11:00
  2. Montana & Basecamp
    By bsacbob in forum GPS - Help and Discussion
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 11 Feb 2013, 15:14
  3. Garmin Basecamp on Mac
    By bsacbob in forum GPS - Help and Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04 Feb 2013, 21:24
  4. BaseCamp Tutorial
    By Nightrider70 in forum GPS - Help and Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05 Jun 2012, 00:15
  5. Northern Thailand GPS Map on basecamp
    By lakota in forum GPS - Help and Discussion
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 07 May 2012, 11:24

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •